Friday Five: Five Training Goals

image

Run Strong, Run Swift, Run with the Wind

Thank Goodness It’s Friday!!!  I am linking up with Mar Courtney and Cynthia for the Friday Five Link Up  

Training Lately and 5 Goals for Training:  

This past fall I had some strong races and even 2 new PRs in the 5k and 10 mile races.  In terms of training for specific races, I just try to stay at a certain level of fitness for races distances up to the half marathon distance.  I haven’t ever really focused on specifics during any given training cycle.

Last spring I received my RRCA coaching certification and learned a ton of information in regards to training cycles and building plans.  I want to focus more this year on building my own training cycles before I really start working with other runners. Kind along the lines of “practice what you preach” 🙂

Five Goals for Training:

  • Aerobic training in the first 4 weeks of a 12 week training cycle.  Build up that base mileage, increase muscular endurance, increase levels of oxygen and increase the ability to efficiently use levels of oxygen– Steady Runs of 6-8 4x a week, with a long run of ten to 12 once a week.
  • Consistency each week with running at an easy pace, focusing on the miles, not the speed.  I have to admit that I sometimes have to leave all tracking devices at home and just run familiar routes by effort.  I have a tendency to push too hard on the pace when I see it on my Garmin watch or RunKeeper App!
  • Core and Strength training- On my easy mile nights ( 3-4 miles) I am incorporating 30 minutes of essential strength exercises for runners  and yoga to improve flexibility and loosen tight muscles-specifically my hips!
  • Nutrition-  Focusing on hydration, eating foods that will fuel my body, and help with muscle recovery after tough workouts.  I eat a ton of eggs, fish from my favorite company Sizzle Fish , hearty and nutritious grains such as brown rice and quinoa, as wells as a variety of beans.
  • Keeping a Journal: Taking the time to write down my thoughts and reflections on what’s working with this more focused approach.  Being able to pin point the high and lows of each week within the training cycle.  The ability to see when to adjust and be flexible with training and fitting it in to life’s daily challenges.

What goals do you focus on during any given training cycle?  Do you find your training lacking in a certain area?  

Happy Earth Day!!  Don’t forget to check out the other link ups for the Friday Five with Mar, Courtney and Cynthia!

 

4 thoughts on “Friday Five: Five Training Goals

  1. MCM Mama

    I’m in a huge base building phase right now. I want to find some speed this year, so I want to get back to the point where a 30-40 mile week is the norm and then bring back some speedwork.

    I need to try Sizzlefish. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment